News, Articles & Updates

NOTICES REQUIRED FOR NEW 2015 MINIMUM WAGE INCREASE IN SAN FRANCISCO AND NEW PAID SICK LEAVE LAW IN CALIFORNIA

On January 1, 2015, the minimum wage in San Francisco increased to $11.05 per hour.  Employers with employees who perform work within San Francisco must pay no less than the minimum wage rate and must also comply with the Paid Sick Leave Ordinance (“Ordinance”).  The Ordinance requires all employers to provide employees paid sick leave for their own care or to aid or care for a family member or designated person.

Beginning July 1, 2015, the Healthy Workplace/Healthy Families Act of 2014 requires California employers to provide employees with one hour of paid sick leave for every thirty (30) hours worked.  San Francisco employers will still need to comply with the more comprehensive San Francisco Ordinance.

Both ordinances require employers to post a Notice informing employees of their rights.  The Notices must be displayed where employees can easily read them. Below are links to the new minimum wage poster and a template for the new paid sick leave poster.

If you have any questions about your obligations regarding the new Notices, please contact us at info@mitzelgroup.com or reach out to your Mitzel Group, LLP attorney directly.

MINIMUM WAGE INCREASES IN CALIFORNIA AND OTHER STATES ACROSS THE COUNTRY

January 1, 2015

The year 2015 will bring about minimum wage increases in various cities in California as well as in many states across the country.  For most cities in California and for other states, the increase became effective on January 1, 2015.  For a few other cities in California the increase will become effective later in the year.

Employers must be alert to these changes in order to limit the risk of a wage or hour claim being brought by an employee.  Impacted employers need to:

  • Consider local governing minimum wage requirements.  Minimum wage must be paid at the highest rate mandated for the employer’s locale.
  • Increase wages for employees making less than the new minimum required amount.
  • Consider payroll processing implications when determining the effective date of the wage change.  For example, if wages are increased effective January 1, employees might have different base pays in a single pay period.
  • Review and amend company policies that are paid at minimum wage, for example: travel pay that is paid at minimum wage.
  • Review and amend, if applicable, pay scales for exempt staff considering all Federal, State, and local wage requirements. For example, specific California Wage Orders require that an exempt employee’s monthly salary must be at least two times the State minimum wage for full time employment.

Below is a summary of minimum wage increases for impacted cities in California. If you have any questions about your obligations under the new minimum wage laws, please contact us at info@mitzelgroup.com or reach out to your Mitzel Group, LLP attorney directly.

San Francisco:  Minimum wage increased to $11.05/hour on January 1, 2015.  Minimum wage will increase to $12.25/hour effective May 1, 2015.

San Jose:  Minimum wage increased to $10.30/hour on January 1, 2015.

Oakland:  Minimum wage will increase to $12.25/hour effective March 2, 2015.

Berkeley:  Minimum wage will increase to $11.00/hour effective October 1, 2015.

Richmond:  Minimum wage increased to $9.60/hour on January 1, 2015.

San Diego:  Minimum wage increased to $9.75/hour on January 1, 2015.  Minimum wage will increase to $12.25/hour effective May 1, 2015.

 

Below is a summary of minimum wage increases for other impacted states across the country.  All increases below became effective on January 1, 2015.

Arizona:  Minimum wage increased to $8.05/hour.

Arkansas:  Minimum wage increased to $7.50/hour.

Colorado:  Minimum wage increased to $8.23/hour.

Connecticut:  Minimum wage increased to $9.15/hour.

Florida:  Minimum wage increased to $8.05/hour.

Maryland:  Minimum wage increased to $8.00/hour.

Massachusetts:  Minimum wage increased to $9.00/hour.

Missouri:  Minimum wage increased to $7.65/hour.

Montana:  Minimum wage increased to $8.05/hour.

Nebraska:  Minimum wage increased to $8.00/hour.

New Jersey:  Minimum wage increased to $8.38/hour.

New York:  Minimum wage increased to $8.75/hour.

Ohio:  Minimum wage increased to $8.10/hour.

Oregon:  Minimum wage increased to $9.25/hour.

Rhode Island:  Minimum wage increased to $9.00/hour.

South Dakota:  Minimum wage increased to $8.50/hour.

Vermont:  Minimum wage increased to $9.15/hour.

Washington:  Minimum wage increased to $9.47/hour.

West Virginia:  Minimum wage increased to $8.00/hour.